Beautiful orange squares by Caroline Clark, inspired the theme of our hallway

Beautiful orange squares by Caroline Clark, inspired the theme of our hallway

This painting has lived in the hallways of three very different houses now, but in this our most recent, I think we’ve been able to give it the most appropriate setting.

When we moved to this house, the hallway was green and gloomy.

A peaceful but tired and dark house

A peaceful but tired and dark house

It was so refreshing to get the white paint out and let the light in. The carpet was ripped up, the floors stripped and varnished. We considered a bold striped runner up the stairs, having ogled some striking carpets at Roger Oates http:/www.rogeroates.com/products/runners/ and some fun patterns on rugs from a little Swedish firm I know called Pappelina http://www.lottafromstockholm.co.uk/pappelina-rugs.html. But then — A GREAT FIND! –  on Pinterest and pasted liberally throughout the design blog world:

Design_sponge_rect540

Credit: Dan Duchars/ London

I was inspired! And so the search began for a bright orange carpet… surprisingly hard to source. I thought at first that I might find a magical bargain at “end-of-line” warehouses or even something online. But I was nervous about the quality of the internet offerings, and ends-of-line are usually to be found in the theme of beige: the closest I could get to orange was a drab rust.

Thanks to a local family-run firm with a proper selection of good quality brands, I finally found our runner, and now our hallway is welcoming and cheerful.

A go-faster stripe up the stairs, because everyone likes to race, especially in our house

A go-faster stripe up the stairs, because everyone likes to race, especially in our house

You can probably spy the painting now settled in its new surroundings. We liked the orange line so much that we added one above the dado rail as well.

At home in a bespoke space

At home in a bespoke space

The painting fits right in, and I’m always on the lookout for a few gold accents or chirpy orange pieces. Soon I’ll tell you about our console table and the cute orange vases I found….

